DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavi annoyances

Wetdog

Reactions
I've been flying P3P's for about two years and decided to try the Mavic Pro as a more portable solution - realizing that portability always has some compromises. While the thing flies beautifully and the camera is fine, there are a couple of real annoyances that I'm struggling with -

1. The iPhone connection. Using a 6s, I have to remove the case every time (sort of annoying) but much more bothersome is the difficulty using the home button. It seems like there is this constant fight between being able to get into the iPhone, get into the Go app and keeping the lightning connector in place. Once it's settled in, the rig works OK but I'm always worried about losing the connection with the app at the worst possible time. The design, although admittedly slick, does not seem well thought out.

Do you all use a longer cable and another method of attaching the device? Use a different iPhone or tablet?

Related to this is

2. Poor visibility. The iPhone 6s just doesn't have a bright enough display. For the Phantoms I use an external 1000 nit monitor or goggles. Neither appears to be an option.

3. Landing and take off. I suppose I could just shut down the bottom sensors and let the thing land in my hand but I miss the landing legs on the P3. The aftermarket legs look fiddly and unstable.

The connection issue is bad enough that it has me ready to send the thing back. I'd love to hear some workarounds or tips.

I have the same problem. Working on a solution that will let me keep the otter on and still have access to home key.

Using a 6s, I have to remove the case every time (sort of annoying) but much more bothersome is the difficulty using the home button. It seems like there is this constant fight between being able to get into the iPhone, get into the Go app and keeping the lightning connector in place.