DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro with Ipad mini 2 GPS question

Studoo

Reactions
Hi ,I am a newbie here,have been happily learning to use my Mavic Pro /RC controller and my iphone 6s for two weeks in gps mode,making progress and loving it.

I have an ipad Mini 2 and hoped I might use it to monitor flights instead of phone,but having researched on here and other places realised that it would only work in "wi fi" mode without GPS,wasn't sure I wanted to go down this route .

However my inquisitiveness won out and tonight took it to a local park and fired it all up with the ipad mini(no props not planning to fly)

Got a ready to Go signal (all greens) GPS mode with 17 satelites!! Not expecting that,What does this mean,my ipad mini model is wi fi only no cellular?

What am I not understanding
Many thanks for any advice /answers

The GPS signal is not coming from the iPad. It's coming from the Mavic itself (technically, you don't even need to use a phone/tablet to fly the drone). Fire up the Mavic and the controller without ever using/attaching the phone and you should still see the Mavic go into GPS mode (you just won't know how many satellites it's using without looking at the app but it's still using them!). In fact, you can't use WiFi mode without a phone/device, as that method leaves out the remote controller entirely (using the WiFi connection on your phone to communicate with the drone). You'll never really use this unless you just don't want to pack up your controller for some reason and don't wish to fly very far.

You really only need GPS on your device if you wish to see the location of your device on the map, wish to change the home location during flight to the location of the RC, or wish to utilize the Follow Me mode. I happily use a non-GPS/cellular iPad for a controller and never miss the lack of a GPS feature on my device.

Last edited: