Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mechanical aperture?

frankbiganski

Reactions
Site
londonestatephotography.co.uk
Hi.

I'm going to eventually upgrade to a Mavic 3E that provides an adjustable aperture and mechanical shutter, but does anyone know if the aperture is also mechanical or, are all DJI drones with variable apertures (f/2.8-f/11) mechanical or are all electronic.

Thanks much!

Frank

What is the relevance of aperture control mechanism?
It's the shutter that needs to be mechanical, for mapping while in motion, and it is on the Mavic 3E.

I'm not mapping, so perhaps I'm looking at the wrong drone?

I'm a photographer who demands to have control over both shutter speeds and apertures, but I'm old-schooled so I'm assuming mechanical shutters and apertures are better than electronic.

Hi.

I'm going to eventually upgrade to a Mavic 3E that provides an adjustable aperture and mechanical shutter, but does anyone know if the aperture is also mechanical or, are all DJI drones with variable apertures (f/2.8-f/11) mechanical or are all electronic.

Thanks much!

Frank
Aperture on main Hassy camera is true mechanical.

Reactions: GadgetGuy

I'm a photographer who demands to have control over both shutter speeds and apertures, but I'm old-schooled so I'm assuming mechanical shutters and apertures are better than electronic.
Indeed! Electronic shutters are in 99% of the cameras used by the best photographers in the world today. No need for the Enterprise version of the Mavic 3. Save some money, and get the Mavic 3 Pro instead. It is a drone photographer's dream camera and lens combination, of a 24mm, a 70mm, and a 166mm equivalent lens!

Last edited:
Aperture on main Hassy camera is true mechanical.
Are you referring to all the Mavic 3 series, or only the Enterprise version?