DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 2, mini 3 or 3 pro?

k00ba

Reactions
Hi. I'm new here and to drones altogether. I'm a photographer and I'm thinking about getting a drone for photography (I'm not interested in videos). Should I spend more and buy mini 3pro or will mini 3 (or even mini 2?) be sufficient? Please help, I'm torn.

Buy what you need. You can compare the specs here.

I know the difference between models, I've done my homework. I thought there was maybe someone with similar dilemma and I could pick their brain a little.

@k00ba firstly welcome to the forum
well as you already know the specs of each drone ,then as a photographer ,you should already know which of the drones would serve your needs
they all fly in a similar way ,its just whether you need OA or not ,and the automated flight pre programmed features or not
in your case, just for taking pictures ,then those things are not an essential
so purely down to camera specs then the Muni 3 pro has the edge

I know the difference between models, I've done my homework.
Cool. So, what's the dilemma then? It sounds like you already know which model will meet your unique needs.

Reactions: old man mavic
There is no dilemma out of the drones you have selected. You either want the best or you want the cheapest. But, you are new, so you will want all the protection (and features) you can get.

Mini 3 Pro and be done with it!

Last edited:
As someone who recently struggled with this decision, I can say I would highly recommend the mini 3 pro - mostly for the OA - as a new pilot I think it will help keep you out of trouble. It won't ELIMINATE crashes for sure, but it will definitely help you avoid some crashes. It is more money, but I've not regretted the decision at all. The other thing I can say is get the RC controller instead of the N1 - it is so nice not to have to plug in your phone to the controller in order to fly.