DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Minnesota - Where CAN we fly?

CptQuad

Reactions
Hi All - Let's collaborate on legal and permissible drone flying areas. I'm new to the game and have a Mavic Pro 2. I'm interested in finding places to fly that don't require a special use permit, and neither the FAA B4Ufly app or Airmap are comprehensive in this regard. They do not include Minnesota state restrictions (we can't fly in MN state parks for example) or local restrictions (Minneapolis parks prohibit recreation drone flights, and there are county-specific restrictions as well). I've provided some useful links below on restrictions in Minnesota that I'm aware of, and I'd really appreciate help identifying areas where we CAN fly. It sounds like flying in State Forests is allowed.

Thanks in advance for your contributions!

MN Restrictions on Drone Flight:
Minnesota – State Drone Law
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board
Public Safety | Three Rivers Park District

MN State Forests (drone flying is allowed - I think):
State Forests - Minnesota DNR

Last edited:
Hi All - Let's collaborate on legal and permissible drone flying areas. I'm new to the game and have a Mavic Pro 2. I'm interested in finding places to fly that don't require a special use permit, and neither the FAA B4Ufly app or Airmap are comprehensive in this regard. They do not include Minnesota state restrictions (we can't fly in MN state parks for example) or local restrictions (Minneapolis parks prohibit recreation drone flights, and there are county-specific restrictions as well). I've provided some useful links below on restrictions in Minnesota that I'm aware of, and I'd really appreciate help identifying areas where we CAN fly. It sounds like flying in State Forests is allowed.

Thanks in advance for your contributions!

MN Restrictions on Drone Flight:
Minnesota – State Drone Law
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board