DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Misinformed police trying to claim that I can't fly in my area

Yaros

Reactions
I have been flying drones around the area where I live for 2 years now with no major issues with anyone, well, I guess that changed. I suppose that someone of my neighbors reported me to the police for flying a drone. To clarify, I live in a good to fly zone, it is legal to fly here, it's class G airspace! I mostly fly the mavic, but also fly a tinywhoop in the park sometimes. Yesterday I went to the park to fly the tinywhoop, flew a couple of batteries and walked home. On the way home the police stopped me and asked me what I have in the bag, I said it was a small drone, they immediately claimed that it is illegal to fly drones in this area, I proceeded to disagree with them, they clearly knew nothing about drones, they got my info, after that I opened the Enaire app, which is basically Spanish version of the Airmap and showed them that it is indeed legal to fly in this area, and one of the cops said "so, in all areas that are not marked there are absolutely no restrictions?" at this point I understood that they don't even know the simplest drone laws... I explained to them some basic and most important restrictions, like the max height, VLOS, and similar, also I said in which cases the drone should be registered. After that I asked them why they say it's illegal to fly here, and their response was "because people are getting annoyed by them and call us to get rid of drones", okay, maybe I don't understand something here, but since when is it illegal to fly drones just because people are getting annoyed by them? Like [Language Removed by ADMIN] really!