Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Mountain Top Landing

bmwbob

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
115
Reaction score
193
Age
68
Location
California
I was out lying my mini the other day and there's a hilltop nearby I can see with a clear level spot and I was wondering if I could remotely land and take off from there. Assuming the controller would see the mini and allow takeoff, a new RTH location would be created, but I could still fly it home by eye.
 

MAvic_South_Oz

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 25, 2017
Messages
4,637
Reaction score
3,606
Age
57
Location
Adelaide, South Australia, the great southern land
Will it record a new RTH though, if just landing and taking off again ?
Maybe if motors are stopped, but obviously drone can't be shut down at the remote location.

Just try it landing say 50m away, even on flat ground, as long as the signal is ok.
Try landing, taking off again, with motors running.
Try landing, CSC stop motors, leave it a minute, restart motors, take off.

Fly these options half way back to your location, and press RTH, see what happens, would be interesting.

Of course even if RTH logs a new location and it starts flying back, you can just cancel and fly manually back to your location.

Another thought . . . you could try controller power off when landed and motors stopped
Then, restart the controller, see if that reconnects ok, and then I imagine a new RTH would be recorded ?
 
  • Like
Reactions: bmwbob

Meta4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
5,503
Reaction score
6,311
Age
64
I was wondering if I could remotely land and take off from there. Assuming the controller would see the mini and allow takeoff, a new RTH location would be created,
Your Mini will keep its recorded home point until you power down the drone.
It would record a new home point when it gets good GPS position data again after powering up.
If you just land and relaunch without powering the drone down, it will still have the original home point.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bmwbob

iglou7

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
56
Reaction score
44
Age
70
Location
Gent
Your Mini will keep its recorded home point until you power down the drone.
It would record a new home point when it gets good GPS position data again after powering up.
If you just land and relaunch without powering the drone down, it will still have the original home point.
Yeah, I think so too. Also, i noticed that when i start the motors manually and fly directly away, there is no homepoint recorded. Just an impression i have.
 

Meta4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
5,503
Reaction score
6,311
Age
64
i noticed that when i start the motors manually and fly directly away, there is no homepoint recorded. Just an impression i have.
If the drone is out in the open with a good sky view and you wait for satellites to be acquired after powering up, the drone will always record a home point as soon as it gets good position information.
 

Dbez1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
230
Reaction score
262
Age
72
Location
Ford City, PA
Your Mini will keep its recorded home point until you power down the drone.
It would record a new home point when it gets good GPS position data again after powering up.
If you just land and relaunch without powering the drone down, it will still have the original home point.
How do you power it down remotely?
 

BudWalker

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
1,594
Reaction score
1,077
Age
71
Location
Arroyo Grande, California
The MM will record a HomePoint every time it launches. If the MM lands and then launches without a power down then a new Home Point is recorded. AFAIK this has been the case with all the DJI platforms after and including the P3.

Here is the log from my MM with 3 launches but no power down.
1585853074453.png
And from the eventLog stream

5.333 : 4326 [L-HOME]Update. lati:35.1467052 longti:-120.5787107 alti:136.07
:
87.289 : 8429 [L-HOME]Update. lati:35.1467748 longti:-120.5783514 alti:135.48
:
146.448 : 11390 [L-HOME]Update. lati:35.1466388 longti:-120.5786334 alti:135.52


Also, a HP is recorded as soon as there are enough sats. But, then after navHealth > 3 the HP is updated. Presumably the first HP is just in case a launch occurs before the FC can obtain a precise solution.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dbez1

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
6,074
Reaction score
2,277
Age
54
Also note that you can't land an M2 or Mini without it stopping the the motors. When it reaches about 2ft from ground while commanded to descend, it hesitates. If command to descend continues, it goes into landing mode which includes motor stop.

With the P3, it's possible to touch down but still keep the motors idling, which would prevent an HP being reset. It wasn't recommended to stop the motors with CSC, since the stick maneuver to engage CSC could be interpreted literally before interpreted as CSC, causing it to tip over.
 

Mavic John

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
24
Age
50
Location
Germany
I was out lying my mini the other day and there's a hilltop nearby I can see with a clear level spot and I was wondering if I could remotely land and take off from there. Assuming the controller would see the mini and allow takeoff, a new RTH location would be created, but I could still fly it home by eye.
A I understand it, if you land then with the mini the motors will stop and the new HP is the created. Take off again if you still have connection and reset HP in flight.
 

Checki

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
172
Reaction score
68
Location
Germany
Also note that you can't land an M2 or Mini without it stopping the the motors. When it reaches about 2ft from ground while commanded to descend, it hesitates. If command to descend continues, it goes into landing mode which includes motor stop.

With the P3, it's possible to touch down but still keep the motors idling, which would prevent an HP being reset. It wasn't recommended to stop the motors with CSC, since the stick maneuver to engage CSC could be interpreted literally before interpreted as CSC, causing it to tip over.
I'm not sure. I have mavic 2 pro and I think I did it. But I turned landing protection off, maybe that help. And I always fly manually....
So I landed and the motors kept on spinning, you just have to cancel the landing in the right moment.

But anyway, you could just hover there and set a new home point, what avoht that?!
 

Checki

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
172
Reaction score
68
Location
Germany
Yeah, I think so too. Also, i noticed that when i start the motors manually and fly directly away, there is no homepoint recorded. Just an impression i have.
As far as I know you have some sort of homepoint.
But If you start like that, you definitely don't get precision landing to work...!
 

iglou7

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
56
Reaction score
44
Age
70
Location
Gent
As far as I know you have some sort of homepoint.
But If you start like that, you definitely don't get precision landing to work...!
100% correct! I almost landed in my neighbour's garden after a quick start and a RTH afterwards. Have a nice day.
 

Meta4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
5,503
Reaction score
6,311
Age
64
But anyway, you could just hover there and set a new home point, what aboht that?!
Resetting the home point won't reset your home altitude.
Stopping the motors and restarting the drone records a new home point and resets the homepoint height to zero.
 

iglou7

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
56
Reaction score
44
Age
70
Location
Gent
Resetting the home point won't reset your home altitude.
Stopping the motors and restarting the drone records a new home point and resets the homepoint height to zero.
Scary
 

PeRo

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
5
Age
58
Previous statements reg. HP and Home altitude settings (Meta4 and others) are correct - at least for Mavic Pro 1 / 2 / Air.
See a weird example to reset Home altitude for MA in this video clip.
 

GadgetGuy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
2,354
Reaction score
1,132
Not possible. Can’t start a drone you can’t touch either.
Au contraire. To "power it down," just remotely turn off the motors after landing.
You don't want to turn the battery off.
Remotely restarting the motors then resets the altitude to zero, and sets a new HP.
That's how we have been suggesting mountain climbing above 500m with a Mavic 2.
You need an interim landing spot that still retains full RC control.
Mini may be different.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
85,142
Messages
982,627
Members
113,703
Latest member
IslandInTheSky