DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My Experience - Road to Part 107 License

Johndronebusiness

Reactions
Hey guys,
I just passed my Part 107 with 51 correct answers.
I just wanted to share my experience and how I studied on my own for the test and hopefully it can help you to prepare for it as well.

What I did:
1. Really wanted to get my license and motivate myself and really want it!
2. Started with watching Tony and Chelsea Northrup’s video on YouTube. I watched the whole thing at one sitting and took notes... ( never watched it again until the night before the test )
3. Went through the questions on 3DR on my own after work watching Tony and Chelsea’s video to see what I need to more focus on and didn’t understand.
I did this test about 10 times in total, not kidding until I got all of the questions right and can explain WHY to myself.
4. After mastering the questions on 3DR I said to myself I need more so I purchased remote pilot app for $5 from the App Store and studied the whole guide in out, Next I started doing the tests, first I would end up 70-80s but I kept doing it over ad over and over, at work, on the couch, while in the toilet, in the car whenever I had free time! ( for about 1 week )
6. Watched tony’s Video one last time before the night of the test.
7. Wrote down the stuff I thought I’d really need to know and memorize on a piece of paper and kept reading it on my way to the test place, arrived there 30 mins earlier, read it over and over and as soon as my test started I wrote it all down on a blank piece of paper.
8. Read the questions carefully before I answered.
9. Finished my test in about 1 hour and then I wrote 1 to 60 on my blank paper and went through each question AGAIN and put a checkmark on each number for the ones I think I’m 100 percent sure after re-reading and checking my answers.
10. BAM happy ending and got congratulated for passing my test!