DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Need help with near airport restriction

Not sure it's quite that black and white. (OK, I'm a new pilot, so maybe there's history that I'm not aware of).

Maybe "on a whim" was the wrong phase, although I have seen posts about folks getting exemptions/waivers that cover a number of months.

If you look at the 8 limitations associated with recreational flying, all but one (the "commercial" part (checking your own gutters for leaves, really)) also apply to Part 107 if you have not applied for any exemptions/waivers/etc.

Other than the ability for a Part 107 to apply for those exemptions/waivers/etc. and fly for "commercial" purposes are there any other advantages to a Part 107 (please enlighten me).

Now, the Part 107 allows you to apply for those exemptions to fly in areas/heights that recreational pilots are not allowed to. The key word is apply, it's not a given. Yes, you have to give a reason why you want to fly there/at that height. I haven't seen anything that states it must be a "commercial" reason. What's wrong with "recreational flight", as all it asks for is a reason. How is that different than than taking pictures/videos for a website, or a realtor.

The point is, you've proven (maybe) by passing the Part 107 you have more knowledge about the rules, regulations and conditions about flying your drone than the recreational flyer and hopefully fly more responsibly. Why should that be treated any differently than a "commercial" pilot who has also passed the Part 107 if you just want to fly for fun.

Not sure it's quite that black and white. (OK, I'm a new pilot, so maybe there's history that I'm not aware of).

Maybe "on a whim" was the wrong phase, although I have seen posts about folks getting exemptions/waivers that cover a number of months.