DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New pilot questions: wind stability and gpsHealth

ManuCH

Reactions
Hey everyone,
I‘m the proud owner of a new DJI Mavic Pro. I‘ve taken it on a few test flights and I'm still learning the in an outs of this jewel. I've read the manual forward and backwards, watched tutorial videos and lurked on several forums (this one seems to be the my favorite so far!). I tend to be a very cautious flier.

Before that, I only had drone experience with a lowly Parrot (first generation), which doesn't even remotely compare to the Mavic.

In the meantime I have 2 questions which I hope some of you might help me with:

1. how safe is it to fly the Mavic in windy/gusty conditions? I'm not talking about high winds, maybe 10 km/h gusting to 20 km/h. It seems to be flying and maintaining position OK, but I see it wobbling and struggling. The noise it makes is often a bit worrying (angry swarm of wasps probably best describes it). Will it generally be OK? Or does it risk flipping over at some point? I know this might be a stupid question (especially because it's specified up to 31 km/h), but I still want to be sure. I tend to be a bit afraid when going high up (50-100 meters) as it seems a bit too exposed to the elements.

2. is GPS loss due to low gpsHealth values still a thing? I've read several reports of Mavics switching to ATTI mode while in flight for no apparent reason, and I'm scared this might happen, especially when it's windy, moreso because there's no way to explicitly train ATTI mode flying. Any input on this one? I always make sure I wait for a full GPS lock and for the home point to be set before taking off (again, cautious flyer here).

Thanks

I have not had any issues in wind or with GPS loss. (But don't fly in high winds that it is not rated for either)