DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

newbie video editing question

ricklaw

Reactions
i'm a completely newbie when it comes to video editing. but i'd like to edit some 4k videos for youtube. i'm a windows user with a fairly old desktop and a surface pro 3 with an i5 processor. i have a decent video card in the desktop. not great but i can run a 4k monitor at 30hz. with video editing, is it based around my video card or processor? or both? i'm looking for a cheap way to upgrade if needed. i don't mind spending $150-200 on a slightly better video card to be able to edit 4k videos with ease.

Do you want to publish 4K videos? The video card really doesn't help that much in editing. Rendering yes, editing not as much. So you'll notice the video card when you preview and write your final output. 4K requires massive amounts of resources (it's about 4x as much data as 1080p) so your biggest bang for editing will be RAM and CPU. Then when you want to write your final you can just go have lunch or take a nap or something. Plus, think about 4K more as data than your final product needs. With 4x the data it gives you amazing opportunities to pan, crop, zoom, or animate and still come out with a 1080p final product. If you need true 4K output you're gonna need a new computer. I'm using a Lenovo laptop with a Core i7 and 16GB of RAM but only Iris graphics. 4K editing is fine on that but rendering is still pretty slow.

i don't mind spending $150-200 on a slightly better video card to be able to edit 4k videos with ease.

My 4k video editing build budget is about 10x that... and that's without storage and monitors.. .. just sayin

My main PC was pretty good when new in 2012.
I speced it for editing RAW digital photos and HD (1080p) video.
Does that well enough and can get by with 4K but rendering is slow and ram preview as you make any changes is pretty awful even viewing at 1/4 resolution.