DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

AJCQube64

Reactions
Hi Guys,

I need some help here. My waiver got denied & I thought I was very thorough in my application. Can anyone help point out what I am missing?

I'm new to this, constructive feedback only please.

Thanks in advance.

Part of my drone business includes aerial photography & videography of accident clean-ups for various towing companies in the area. These photographs help them justify their costs to the insurance companies to which they submit claims. Obviously these accidents can take place at any time of day or night with no notification, so it is important for me to be ready to photograph these scenes. Of course this will be done with the utmost safety in mind.

Possible risks associated with night operations include night illusions, night blindness, loss of visual line of sight due to darkness, pedestrian/vehicle collisions, aerial collisions, equipment failure & human error.

Many policies & failsafes will be implemented to minimize risk. These will include, but not be limited to:

1. At least one (1) visual observer (VO) will be present from operational onset to completion, in addition to the remote pilot-in-command (PIC). This VO will equipped with a minimum one thousand (1,000) lumen focusable flashlight to visualize the small Unmanned Aerial System (sUAS), terrain, structures, etc. as necessary. All involved parties will be clothed in reflective wear.

1. When at all possible, the operational area will be scouted during daylight hours by both VO & remote PIC for familiarization.