DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

No Height restriction

ztuz67

Reactions
First let Me say, I am Not a drone pilot. I Own 7 3/4 acres of Desert land. It is basically surrounded By Federal lands, outside of Palm Springs. If a Person were to Open a Drone Port with No Height limit would that be something of interest to Drone Pilots as a Vacation Destination?
I thought maybe Having some sort of Yearly height competition or Red Bull sponsored event.
I'm Just wondering if it's a Viable Idea or if there would even be any interest at all.
any input would be awesome. Thanks for Reading.

Reactions: Neko 506 and Hermey
I'm no expert on FAA rules and regs but I don't think a property owner has any say or control over the airspace above their property. I don't believe you could specify a no height restriction. I believe the FAA has control over that.

Of course we would be interested. But you know this already, you would have to get everything sanctioned which would mean lots of planning and approval from the FAA to open up the heavenly skies above. None of our drones can reach 30k feet so it should not be a problem setting up a TFR for a day. I'm assuming these federal lands next to you are open for drones since we cannot keep everyone within 7 acres. I don't speak for all drone pilots but we are mostly interested in the ability to fly freely without a bunch of restrictions, etc...you get the point. Let us know what you come up with!

BTW, I'm not sure many of us are totally enamored with height, probably more so with distance. ;)

Reactions: kalimah and Cafguy
Drones have a 400ft AGL legal ceiling via Federal Aviation Regulations. This ceiling's purpose is to maintain safety separation from manned aircraft that have a regulatory 500ft AGL floor for ordinary operation.

While waivers can be obtained for specific purposes, I doubt such an uncontrolled altitude mission could ever get approval.