DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Photos and videos before 107?

dljordaneku

Reactions
I am currently studying for my 107 and had some ideas on some photos and videos I want to publish after I get my 107. Can I go ahead and take the photos and shoot the videos not and not publish them anywhere and once I get my 107, go ahead and start publishing them? I wanted to get a jump start on my webpage and social media accounts so when I get the license, I have a lot in the bank already. I wouldn't publish any on social media until I get my license and I would make the website hidden until I got the license so on one can see it.

dj

Reactions: BrianH55
You are allowed to use any photo or video taken before you get your 107 once you are a 107.

If you really want to get into the weeds, you're no longer flying for pure "recreational" purposes if you're flying for collecting imagery for your 107 use. But not a living FAA soul would give two wits about that.

You're following the spirit of the law, if not exactly the letter. It's one of the issues with the language of Part 107 and Section 44809, and one of the reasons why having a practical exam for a 107 Cert is impossible.

Fly safe, have fun, take great imagery, and use it once you have your 107.

You are allowed to use any photo or video taken before you get your 107 once you are a 107.

If you really want to get into the weeds, you're no longer flying for pure "recreational" purposes if you're flying for collecting imagery for your 107 use. But not a living FAA soul would give two wits about that.

You're following the spirit of the law, if not exactly the letter. It's one of the issues with the language of Part 107 and Section 44809, and one of the reasons why having a practical exam for a 107 Cert is impossible.

Fly safe, have fun, take great imagery, and use it once you have your 107.