DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Prop Strike in Sport Mode

NastyNate

Reactions
G' evening everyone,

I'm a new Mavic operator, my Ol Lady bought me this thing for Christmas.
I've logged 10 hrs of flight time since then and have noticed some real bad prop strike when flying in Sport Mode. I would presume this is happening as I am descending and turning at full stick, simultaneously.

I believe this is caused by the rear arms, flexing upward and into the body from either gravity, thrust or a combo of both. The result is the depicted prop strikes on both rear sides of upper shell. it's more noticeable on the halo or ringed prop side for some reason, although I feel I bank equally to the right as I do to the left.

e4965e59a08d0d1706bde93cfa9f460c.jpg

a quick inspection, with a ruler, showed my motors to be in alignment, bird hasn't been crashed - yet. I called into DJI who explained that this is normal when i. sport mode - WTF?! Their recommended fix is to slow down when descending and turning and to minimize sport mode flying. Apparently mine is not an isolated issue as there are hundred of cases being reported of this same condition, according to Luigi at DJI tech support. Funny - not one mention of it on this forum.

Given that the above conditions will continue to result in more damaged props, until the impacted areas are fully notched out - I took a dremel to her to, hopefully speed up the process.

d7ec52f4e458e4deb85bd25658aea221.jpg

as you can see, I took it down as far as I could and the end result = prop strike. it would appear that, in order to rectify condition, you would have to completely remove that section of the rear, upper shell.

I've concluded that no matter what you do, this bird when operating in Sport Mode. Anyone else having similar issues on rear props?

here's a link to some of my RAW flying footage - in Sport Mode of course[emoji106]

-NN