DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

The FAA is ruining their name

jmaeding

Reactions
I just got done taking my Part 107 recurrent test, got a 78%, which annoyed me. I got 93% on non-recurrent test.
The questions involving weather, sectional charts, anything actually related to real issues, were fairly easy.
Then there were the ridiculous questions on little details of rules and regs.
One question was about duel registration of drone in US and foreign countries. Another was if part 107 applied to public or civil operations.
I went back and that material was in some of the study videos, but it was so obscure I did not focus on it.
I found myself guessing on a lot of questions, and then a lot of the stuff I studied for was not on the test.
Its like they read the prep test questions out there, and avoided them. It was too coincidental.
Anyway, with this new beacon requirement they are talking about, my view of the FAA is they have lost their vision.
Managing airspace is super important, but the drone regs have become a money maker for them ($160 a test??), and they are apparently investing that money into more rules and regs. Why does every government agency go this route? Seems like the more unenforceable a rule is, the more government likes it. They found a gold mine with drones.

First off WELCOME to the forum.

The FAA does not make any $$ off of the test. It 100% goes to the testing facility and it SHOULD go to them to administer the test. All "Airmen Tests" are handled this way and IMHO it should remain like this. That $160 is just a low bar for entry. Up until August 2016 you had to hold a min of a Pilots License (Min of $10k on average) to fly a UAS for commercial operations. I'd say taking a simple 70 question test and paying $160 is VERY reasonable when you step back and look at the BIG PICTURE.

@BigAl07
Thanks, looks like a great forum!