DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Weird behavior at night in one specific place (MA2). Can someone understand what's happening?

Yaros

Reactions
Hey! I have been flying the Mavic Air 2 for 3 months, and it's great.
My favorite takeoff place is the top floor of my apartment building, it's easy to go there, and I always have good signal with good range.
But there is a strange occurrence that I noticed when flying at night or late evening (after 7 PM)! The drone always requires compass calibration if I try to fly at 7 PM or later, which seems odd, especially taking in account that when trying to takeoff from other locations it doesn't require any calibration. After that compass calibration it works just fine, but there is a reason it does ask for it, and maybe it's not a good one! Also, sometimes when I takeoff at evening or night after the takeoff the gimbal goes sideways, like it's not calibrated! I manually correct it from settings while it's hovering, but why can this happen?? I fly there almost every day and during day hours everything is like usual, but when it's evening or night it always happens! Could someone of you explain, what can it really be?

First, I blamed it on the Satellite Antennas (5 antennae) that maybe when people start watching TV it messes with the magnetic field, but after reading a little online I read that satellite antennas which are receivers normally can't interfere with signals. Is that true?
If it is, then what else could it be that only at night and only at that place would make my drone mess up its compass and gimbal calibration? 🤔
Any ideas?

Reading material.

Reactions: Dave Maine
Does the calibration issue happen at night if you DON'T attach the strobe?

I found my U-DR-02 changes the compass calibration on my Air 2 - so it is now back in the box.