DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Wierd Crash...what happened and what to do?

Budge

Reactions
Hi. So I had my first crash today after a couple of dozen flights over the last 6 weeks since getting my Mavic. I have some good experience building and flying drones over the last 3 years, but I am VERY conservative with the Mavic. I was flying on a deserted golf course below the height of the tree tops and well within LOS. I was bringing the drone directly back to me (forward flight) while descending in Cinematic Mode. Then the props stopped spinning and the Mavic just fell out of the sky. The Mavic seems fine, which I confirmed with a short flight. But the gimble ribbon cable is cut (I think) and I'm getting a gimble motor overload error. I'll attach an image of the cable.

So two things: What happened to cause the failure, and what do I do about the ribbon cable? I'll post a link to my Flight Data. And I'd like to fix my ribbon cable without using my DJI Care if possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

View media item 1205

Reactions: Piggy
@msinger will get the whole story.

Just looking at it, it appears to be a standard flight to me.

I don't know anything, but looking at the battery volts go up as it came back and ultimately shutoff it's weird.

You're not using any external batteries I assume? So maybe that's normal.

I bet the battery came undone.

Reactions: metamatic and Budge
That sux if it was the battery. Did it separate from the frame on the crash?

I have this issue with my current Mavic.
It would have caught me out if It was my first Mavic, so that's just ***** luck

The battery sits flush, one side might eve click so your sure it's good, but it's a horrible crash waiting to happen.

Reminds me of at least one 'Air Crash Investigation'

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: Budge