DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air2s indoor flying question

johnweim

Reactions
I've never flown my air2s indoors and am thinking about doing some flying in a large indoor building. I do fly smaller drones fpv so I've had a lot of experience with full acro mode flying indoors and outdoors. My question is: is flying without the gps which I believe would be in atti mode the same as acro mode (no stabilization at all) or is it just level flight with no horizontal or vertical stabilization I didn't find an explanation in the manual. Thanks for your help. Any tips from folks that have done this would be appreciated.

... My question is: is flying without the gps which I believe would be in atti mode the same as acro mode (no stabilization at all) or is it just level flight with no horizontal or vertical stabilization.
You cant really compare a Mavic in ATTI mode with a Quad in any if its Acro, Horizon or Angle mode.

A Mavic in ATTI will aways have vertical hold, a Quad never have that in either of the modes ... the Mavic will keep the height, the horizontal hold will however be gone and can in a way be compared with the Quads Angle modes tilt angle limitation.

Your Mavic Air 2s have 3 stabilization stages though ... the default GPS mode, and if the sat. lock is lost it will revert to Optical mode, using the VPS sensor on the belly to take care of the horizontal hold (if low enough, if the light is enough & if the ground pattern is suitable for a lock, see the user manual for this) ... lastly if the first 2 fails it goes to ATTI.

Last edited:
Reactions: old man mavic