DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Anyone else afraid to fly too high?

FUTURE_PRODUCTIONS

Reactions
Has anyone else found that their Mavic pro gets blown about slight in the air and it freaks them out and the end up flying only approx 100ft?

On a side note, I am a new pilot and wonder what's the max flight regulations for a recreational flight in the US and Canada? I heard it was approx 400ft but could be wrong and any tips on flying higher and getting the balls to fly higher. (Professional Paperwork and FAA approved of course)

Thanks guys!

K

Technically, there is no altitude restriction for hobby use, BUT 400' max is the recommended maximum. You will not get any official permission to do it. If you go part 107 then I think you MUST remain below 400' from take off point?
Maybe someone with 107 can chime in here.

Has anyone else found that their Mavic pro gets blown about slight in the air and it freaks them out and the end up flying only approx 100ft?

Mine gets visibly blown around even at 5', so no, I'm not afraid to go all the way up to 400'.

Not that you should ignore wind conditions, of course, but it's normal for the MP to drift around a bit. Also, if you ever get into a situation where the wind is preventing your MP from making headway, always remember Sport Mode - it can definitely get you out of a lot of jams.

It's something that you'll have to get used to. I would say you have a healthy fear and when that healthy fear goes away you will have problems. There is really no difference if it is 1ft off the ground or 1,000ft off the ground, 1ft away from you or 10,000ft away from you. You have to build a trust with your equipment and with experience will come that trust. Take your time and you will become a better pilot for it.