DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

ATTI Mode for Mavic 2

PAW

Premium Pilot
Reactions
The M2 is the first drone I've operated. Therefore, I have no experience with flying in ATTI Mode. I don't want to purchase a smaller non-GPS drone to gain the experience, I want to train on the actual AC I will be using. After reading extensive forum posts regarding swapping out one of the Mode switches to ATTI Mode, and not wanting to downgrade DJI Assistant or losing one of the primary Modes (I actually use all three), I submit the following questions:
  1. Has anyone had experience with covering the M2's forward of the battery top with tin foil?
  2. Has anyone seen a "snap-on" device that would block the GPS receiver (I can't find one via Google)?
  3. Am I just out of luck unless I do the Mode hack or purchase an inexpensive non-GPS drone?
Scratching-Head.jpg

Reactions: Gindra
The M2 is the first drone I've operated. Therefore, I have no experience with flying in ATTI Mode. I don't want to purchase a smaller non-GPS drone to gain the experience, I want to train on the actual AC I will be using. After reading extensive forum posts regarding swapping out one of the Mode switches to ATTI Mode, and not wanting to downgrade DJI Assistant or losing one of the primary Modes (I actually use all three), I submit the following questions:
  1. Has anyone had experience with covering the M2's forward of the battery top with tin foil?
  2. Has anyone seen a "snap-on" device that would block the GPS receiver (I can't find one via Google)?
  3. Am I just out of luck unless I do the Mode hack or purchase an inexpensive non-GPS drone?

1. I have had sucess with using aluminum foil. You need to use heavier duty aluminum foil and at least six layers. I also had to block around the sides and down the front wall of the battery compartment.

2. I have not seen a device for such.