DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Clarification regarding FAA licensing..non-commercial

FlyLikeMarv

Reactions
Just a quick background, I've been a pilot since DJI phantom 3 came out. Went for an upgrade to mavic pro, actually I was one of the first wave that got the mavic when it got released last year. Basically I fly my UAS solely for recreation purpose only, non-commercial. I practice photography as a hobby, owned a couple DSLR cameras for personal use only.

I don't own FAA license or any kind but I fly very carefully. Safety of others and myself will always/ have always been my top priority. I know all the general rules, rule of thumb as they say, when flying a drone safety so no need to go there.

Its always on my mind when I fly, should I get an FAA license just to be on the safe side? So I did my research and came across multiple registration websites which offers from $24 to $50 to register, then I got to the official faa.gov and they only ask for $5 reg fee, why is it cheaper? is it because the official page don't offer the extra accessories? such as reg card, sticker label, etc..?

here are a couple sites I've came across that offers reg service. Please advise of which I should go for to reg my drone, or is it best to stay with the official FAA website?

Drone Authority
DRONE REGISTRATION

sUAS Registration ( official FAA page)

Registering as a hobbyist does not give you any special kind of license. If you'd like to register, do it on the FAA's website here.

Just a quick background, I've been a pilot since DJI phantom 3 came out. Went for an upgrade to mavic pro, actually I was one of the first wave that got the mavic when it got released last year. Basically I fly my UAS solely for recreation purpose only, non-commercial. I practice photography as a hobby, owned a couple DSLR cameras for personal use only.