DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flight record & Compass calibration question

RRDC Media

Reactions
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to this and have two quick questions.

1) The top altitude on my flight record is definitely wrong. At the bottom of the printscreen you can see that my altitude for the flight on that day was 190 feet but for some reason it shows 1,083 feet on the record screen. Is there a way to fix this?
Screenshot_20230226_195117.jpg

2) almost every time I want to start flying I have to calibrate the compass. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong? It only takes a minute or so but I'd like to prevent it if possible.

Thanks,
Ricardo

Reactions: mereflyer
2) almost every time I want to start flying I have to calibrate the compass. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?
You don't say what drone you have.

I suppose you know all about not taking off (or start the drone) close to metal, concrete, car roofs etc.

When you get the calibration message, you should check the sensors state in the app. It will show you if the compass really needs calibration, or if it is a "false message".

I have three Mavic 2's. One of them asks for calibration on almost every startup, it has done that since it was new. I check the sensors state, it shows the compass is perfectly fine, and it flies just as it should even if I don't calibrate. It is probably some software glitch. I have heard about other people having the same problem, that it asks for calibration without needing it.

Reactions: RRDC Media
You don't say what drone you have.

I suppose you know all about not taking off (or start the drone) close to metal, concrete, car roofs etc.

When you get the calibration message, you should check the sensors state in the app. It will show you if the compass really needs calibration, or if it is a "false message".