DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Fly with confidence

Akademik

Reactions
I am a new pilot. I saw a few videos and was very excited about piloting until I bought the Mavic Air. I've been up a few times to 200ft. which feels like im close to the moon. I am ready to explore a little but I can't get past the fear of using just the screen to pilot with. I don't know who can see this little craft past 900ft.. What did you do to get past your fear of crashing or losing it?

After i crashed a few Phantoms i got used to it . :)
Welcome to Mavic Pilots .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching . Thumbswayup

Welcome to the forum. I fly a Mavic Air and continue enjoy many flights. Fly close by within your line of sight and as your confidence builds increase your distance. You will find alot of support and good information on this forum. We look forward to seeing your part of the world.

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :) Enjoy the forum!Thumbswayup

Welcome to the forum.
Now this is just me and my preferences but I am perfectly happy with flying 200-300 feet.
Anything more than that and objects on the ground, when shooting video at least, lose their perception and they get to be just dots.
Or at my age, blurry dots.

Like folks stated; practice makes perfect (or almost), but most of all confidence in the technology. I fly both a Mavic Air and a Mavic Pro Platinum. Some advice; even as you fly more and more, the tendency may be to 'cut corners' on pre-flight and other aspects of flying. Don't let that happen.

Also, do some research on 'finding my drone'. Practice this in a controlled environment and once you are comfortable that you can actually find a lost bird you will get even more confident.

Just practice and you will get over this hurdle; we all have been thru this.

Good luck!