DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I wish folks would not do this...

edfrombama

Reactions
Good afternoon to all-
Well, I see from the local news outlets that some bright light flew his/her drone over the Pensacola baseball field last evening and forced the game to stop for fifteen minutes or so.
Now, as a photographer, I can understand wanting to get shots of the field and the game in progress and even the stands, but I understand that doing such a thing would cause problems- and it did.
Apparently the drone hovered over left field for a while and then disappeared over the trees to the west of the stadium.
It's things like this, not flying BVLOS that creates problems for all pilots.

You all be safe and keep well- Ed

I agree this is bad for all of us who follow the rules. I guess the good news is with Remote ID becoming available soon, it will be easy for people to get busted doing this sort of stuff.
I would liken this to the laws that require all gun owners to register their guns, as if the criminals will register their guns…

I imagine anyone who either does not know the law about flying over people or they and do not care will not worry about registering their drone or entering the required information into the RID.

It's against the law to fire a weapon into the air celebrating New Year's Eve, 4th of July, but they still do that anyway.

But the authorities are starting to acquire the electronics to read the Drone's and the RC's signals and they may not know the pilot's name, address, etc… but they can read all the other info, RC's location, the Drone's location, altitude, speed, direction, etc… and if they respond quickly enough, they can catch the pilot.