DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Issue with range

LandShark19

Reactions
I am new to drones and so this issue may be more reflective of my inexperience than anything else, but it seems like I am not getting the range I expected with my Mavic 2 Zoom. I purchased it a little over a week ago and have been flying everyday, and I don't ever get more than half a mile before I am out of range of my RC. The drone always kicks in RTH and I reconnect as it is coming back, but it would be nice to be able to go out a little farther. So far I have only flown in my neighborhood which is in the suburbs, and I know that there is probably a lot of interference. Is there a setting that I can modify that can give me some additional range, or am I just going to have to invest in a range extender/booster? I have been reading all over this forum, and there are a lot of threads about different extenders/boosters, but what is the most recommended for the Mavic 2 if I do end up having to go that route? Thanks!

What kind of range you getting? Maybe try to get out in the boonies somewhere. I have no issue getting 5km out of my MP.

I have range issues too, getting average 1/2 - 3/4 mile from house. Ambient radio interference isn't uncommon in even suburban areas. Remember, you're in the WiFi bands, even if not using Wi-Fi protocols.

I’m in a WiFi saturated area (southern CT) and I won’t get get near a half mile of range. It’s not your drone, it’s all the homes with WiFi competing for bandwidth.

Reactions: RadioFlyerMan
OP do you have a clear line of sight when you lose signal . As soon as things get between the controller and bird signal gets weaker

I have range issues too, getting average 1/2 - 3/4 mile from house. Ambient radio interference isn't uncommon in even suburban areas. Remember, you're in the WiFi bands, even if not using Wi-Fi protocols.