DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Lost 15 days of Mavic Mini

aguner

Reactions
Hi everyone,

Mavic Mini was my first drone and I lost it yesterday. I tried the Rocket quick shot mode and after going up 10-15 meters, it immediately started to drift really fast. I pressed the RTH button but got a warning that says something like "RTH does not work, switch to manual". It all happened so fast and within half a minute we couldn't see or control the drone. We chased it using Find my Drone. At some point it lost connection, we were unable to connect again and ultimately it gave a warning that says "pair the remote with the aircraft".

This is the flight log:
As a beginner, I just don't understand how this happened and would be forever grateful if anyone could help me understand it or somehow find it. I spent 5 hours searching the vicinity of the last recorded location under "Find my drone", couldn't find it. It shows a rooftop as the last recorded location, but flight log suggests that it was more than 200 feet high as the last entry. Is it lost forever or do I still have a chance to find it?

Any help or explanation much appreciated.

Best,

Alper

Well that's unfortunate. It was very windy - way more windy than the Mini is capable of dealing with. If you had switched it to sport mode at 25 m height instead of selecting RTH then you could have brought it back, but instead it ascended to the RTH height of 67 m where the wind speed was over 15 m/s, and was gone.

I'll make an estimate of where it likely ended up, but it's going to be some distance away and with several hundred meters of probable error.

Well that's unfortunate. It was very windy - way more windy than the Mini is capable of dealing with. If you had switched it to sport mode at 25 m height instead of selecting RTH then you could have brought it back, but instead it ascended to the RTH height of 67 m where the wind speed was over 15 m/s, and was gone.