DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Mini Range (UK)?

Superbracey

Reactions
Morning. I'm a former Phantom 3 Pro owner and want to get back into flying. I was looking to buy another P3P (good performance, great video, good range, getting old) until I saw that the upcoming Mavic Mini can be had for the same price as a used P3P (new, shiney, warrantied, modern).

I have a budget of approx £3-450 and the reviews of the Mini seem largely favourable. I loved the range of my Phantom and can't stretch to a Mavic Pro.

What is the max. range in the UK? I've seen the following specs for the Mavic Mini:

• Max Transmission Distance (unobstructed, free of interference)
  • Model MR1SS5
    5.8 GHz: 4000 m (FCC); 2500 m (SRRC)
    Model MR1SD25
    2.4 GHz: 2000 m (MIC/CE)
    5.8 GHz: 500 m (CE)

What is MIC?

Cheers.

MIC is the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications in Japan

Ah! So that's the potential range in Japan and not an option here in the UK. 500m max in the UK.
Thanks for clearing that up.

The standard model for Europe is going to be the MR1SD25
You cannot fly in FCC in Europe (or in the United Kingdom unless state regulations change ...)

I'm a bit confused. I live in the UK and ordered my MM from a camera stockist here. I have reason to believe my MM may have been shipped from the US (I seem to remember a New York stamp on the package). Sure enough the number on the controller is MR1SS5 and it does not seem I can switch from 5.8 GHz in the DJI fly app. Do I have an American model? If so what does this mean for me flying in the UK?