DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic suddenly switched to ATTI mode mid flight

ankalagon

Reactions
Hello everyone. I am new to piloting drones and two days ago I had a pretty scary incident with my Mavic Pro. My Mavic suddenly switched to ATTI mode in the middle of the flight. Until now it flown without any issues, and I was able to fly for about 24 kilomiters (4 hours in the air) perfectly fine. But two days ago it suddenly displayed two warnings (one right after another):
  1. Compass Error. Exit P-GPS Mode
  2. [IMU]heading exception (In Flight) pleas switch to atti mode if craft behave abnormally (Using)
Then it switched into ATTI mode and started drifting in the wind. About 30 seconds later when I was trying to return the drone home and land suddenly everything started working correctly again.

Everything ended well, but it was a really scary experience. Does anyone had a similar problem? Is it something "normal" (by normal I mean something that can happen sometimes for example when flying into some magnetic field or something)? In that place where I was flying where only fields and few small water ponds. Nothing special that could generate electromagnetic fields or other interference.

I never did any calibrations on my Mavic since DJI Go App never prompted me to do that. Should I calibrate compass or IMU to minimize the chance of this error appearing again?

Right now it looks like my Mavic is working correctly. Also before every flight I try to check if compass is ok. I do this after takeoff by aligning the drone to the object that is visible on the map and rotating the drone to see if the arrow on the map rotates as expected. Right now compass looks ok, but before that flight it also looked like its working correctly.