DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 2 iOS FCC mod feedback

Baldavenger

Reactions
Just looking for advice/feedback with regards to using some sort of FCC mod on my iPad DJI Fly app (for Mini 2).

I know that there's a few different options out there, so I was wondering which one would be the easiest to
implement, which one is best value for money (if not free), and so on.

All experiences and opinions welcome, and any advice will be appreciated. I'm still learning about the whole
transmitter signal strength thing, but, from what I gather, the extra boost the FCC mode brings is well
worth pursuing.

So yeah, which mod/approach would you recommend, and why?

I’m also interested.
For ios I have seen a couple of alternatives, Florin (25€) and gb160.GitHub (17£/year)
I’m not sure about what these mods can do, I can do myself an Xcode gps spoof which enables fcc on mini 2, but then your location is not the good one in case of RTH.
Are those mods something different, or just wasted money?

Being in an urbanized area with max height allowed 45m I’m looking for a way to increase signal strength

I guess it would depend on your set-up, which of the two options are best suited.

gb160 option is cheaper, and I believe that price also includes AirSense (whereas it's a separate payment with Florin). However, it requires a jailbroken device, otherwise it need to be signed once a week (free), or for the year at an expense (which I don't know). Florin includes the signing for a year.

So, if you have a Mavic Air 2 (with AirSense) and a jailbroken device, then gb160 seems the obvious and best value choice.

If you have a Mini 2, and a device that isn't jailbroken (and you would prefer not to mess about with Xcode and Apple Developers Certificate), the the Florin option makes sense (last I heard it was 22€ for just the FCC mod).

Would be interesting to hear feedback from those who have availed of either option.