DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Props motors or small alternator to recharge batteries.

Zelnando

Reactions
hey guys,

I am not an engineer but I think like one at times. I was thinking that it would be a great idea if someone design drones to have some kind of alternators that work off the wind or the motors to recharge the intelligent battery.

Say if there is a port in front of the drone like the grill on the car that allows wind to flow in, which in turns turns the fan that attaches to the small alternator to recharge the battery. With a 20 -25 minute flight time, that’s enough energy to prolong the battery for 3-5 minutes if not more.

Also, i was thinking the extra weight might be an issue, but imagine if each prop motors can recycle some of that energy back to the battery in an hybrid method.

What do you all think? Am I being dumb or just food for thought. Again I am not an engineer but I think that’s possible innovative ideas.

"With a 20 -25 minute flight time, that’s enough energy to prolong the battery for 3-5 minutes if not more."

That's a pretty bold statement, an improvement that would net 12-20% of battery time is a lot when you're talking about such a small amount of energy expenditure. Consider what a leap it was (In the eyes of DJI and they're marketing team at least) when the Mavic Platinum offered that much additional run time.

I'm not an engineer either but my son is and we're pretty close, I'm paraphrasing here but there's an old saying in Engineering... "there's no free lunch." Yes, the additional weight of your charging system (or more like a regenerative braking system) would require more energy expenditure, also any time you convert energy there is a loss of energy. Given the very small energy expenditures and likely recovery from such a system it's probably not worth putting a lot of thought into it.