DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Roofer Looking for His First Drone

txaggie929

Reactions
Hey everyone,

I'm primarily a residential roofer looking to purchase a drone for inspecting roofs for hail damage here in N. Texas. We have a lot of 2 story and very steep roofs, and it's too time consuming and frankly dangerous to get on these things when somebody just wants them inspected to see if they might have damage.

I have researched and read till my eyes are about to bleed, but still haven't found solid info for one way or the other on the Mavic 2 Pro or the Zoom. Hail damage can be as small as 1/2" in diameter mark on a shingle, and of course can be much larger if hit by baseball sized hail.

I'm a buy once, cry once person. I'm thinking the zoom is the better option since I am primarily observing in the field. Not going to be going back and uploading and editing video.

Sway me one way or the other, please! Thanks!

Reactions: Hauptmann
Of the two choices, I would pick the zoom. That would allow you to get a closer look without needing to get physically closer.

Reactions: Bobvt and Jeff A
I had to have the Pro because I'm a photographer, but if I was primarily doing what you're doing, I would definitely get the zoom.

Non-zooms are super wide-angle, all of them. That means that to get bigger detail on your screen, you need to get the camera closer. That could mean lowering the craft out of sight, especially on a flat roof, which would make me nervous.

I once did roof inspection for a friend using my old Phantom 3 Pro and it was a hairy experience because, while it does have GPS lock, it does not have obstacle avoidance. It was a 3 story house with a flat roof and I just couldn't get close enough with comfort.