DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What to charge for aerial photography services

A330FO

Reactions
Quick question: What would a fair charge be to perform aerial photography for a video? A brief history; I got my Part 107 Commercial license in September of 2016 as soon as it was mandated by the FAA. I am a commercial airline pilot in my 28th year (currently flying the Airbus 330). I spent 3 years in the Air Force as a T-38 Instructor Pilot, then 3 years as a B-52 Aircraft Commander. I started an aerial photography business in 2017 and may have an opportunity to shoot music videos. I've noticed that "pricing" is all over the map and was wondering what the group thought was a fair price structure for work. Any thoughts and ideas will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

What would a fair charge be to perform aerial photography for a video?
What are competitors charging in your area? That'll give you an idea of the range you can charge for similar services.

Haven't seen anything related to video services of this nature. I did see what Home Inspecting companies are charging for roof inspections. I'm just not sure if I should charge by the hour or for the finished service?

Reactions: Mavic Pro Platinum
I'm just not sure if I should charge by the hour or for the finished service?
In my area, photographers (aerial or otherwise) charge for the finished product. I've never seen anyone mention an hourly charge.

Plus, some people work faster than others. If you're very good at what you do and can complete the work quickly, you'll make less money by charging hourly. If you're super slow and take longer than everyone else, you'll overcharge your customers and likely drive away business over time.