DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Adding Sound Effects To Your Mavic Videos

SpaceMonkey58

Reactions

So this is my first attempt at soundscaping (not sure that's a real word but it sounds cool).

I was surprised at how easily the mind accepts the sound effects as long as it matches what the eye is seeing.

I was able to find all of the sounds I needed for free from this site: Free Sound Clips | SoundBible.com

I recorded the bird sounds you hear as the Mavic flies, over the building, into the trees with a Zoom H2 pocket recorderhttps://www.amazon.com/Zoom-H2N-H2n-Handy-Recorder/dp/B005CQ2ZY6/ref=pd_bxgy_421_img_2?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=V35KEN01T7SB2314TV6Y.

Most of that sound "footage" was unusable due to wind so I just bought a wind sock for it https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01IBI58RW/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1.

My goal is to remember to record ambient sounds before I take off and try to incorporate them into the vids. Seems like it really adds something that's been missing.

What do you think??

Wrong sound effect, I didn't hear buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz LOL

No great video.

Very different, and I liked it in general.
I don’t think I’ve seen that done in other vids in my short time on this forum.

The sea birds at around 1:45 didn’t bother you ?
They seemed interested in the drive, one passed fairly closely too !

Wrong sound effect, I didn't hear buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz LOL

No great video.

Thanks for checking it out. That well known buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz has it's place. One of my early attempts with a home brew quad @ 60fps attracted a swarm and gave me an opportunity to slow it down and watch the chaos:

Reactions: KentA
Very different, and I liked it in general.
I don’t think I’ve seen that done in other vids in my short time on this forum.

The sea birds at around 1:45 didn’t bother you ?