DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

skiracingdude

Reactions
**I understand this wouldn't be legal if flown outside of VLOS in the U.S. I am just wondering if it is possible, and I am looking for technical ideas on how to make it work.

Where I live: The freaking tundra. It's cold, it snows, I'm frozen.
What I want to do: Sit my *** inside by a fire, looking out a large window, and fly the drone.
What am I trying to figure out?: I want to put an antenna on the roof, outside, run a cable inside, and connect it to the DJI smart controller.

Is this possible? Has anyone done a remote antenna solution like this? If so, any information on the cables, antenna, and connections would be GREATLY appreciated.
I apologize if this is in the wrong section or has already been covered. I am new here. I'm a commercial pilot "real" aircraft. Just getting into drones and trying to understand the limits to which I can push them.
Thank you for any info or ideas anyone has!

I once took a road trip and visited a ex military drone pilot's house in the arizona desert. He had a 1 foot square antenna on the roof and a big screen TV. He launched his phantom 4 pro off his roof and flew until his battery was at 60%, then flew back. All piloted indoors and viewed on his big screen. He had a modified smart controller in this system. So, yes it's possible but I do not know how it was modified. His next step was to increase battery capacity.
Cape Productions used to operate a fleet of Inspire 1 drones out of the guadalahara Mexico police station and could fly miles away from where they were based, all flown and viewed on monitors at the precinct desks.

Reactions: Pallidin
**I understand this wouldn't be legal if flown outside of VLOS in the U.S. I am just wondering if it is possible, and I am looking for technical ideas on how to make it work.

Where I live: The freaking tundra. It's cold, it snows, I'm frozen.