DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How come we see many very popular Youtubers flying BVLOS if it's not allowed?

TnDronePilot

Reactions
Since I read that BVLOS approvals are very rare (like 25 total), I'm sure some of Youtubers we all watch don't have the authorization to be flying their drones out of sight. I appreciate the fun videos where they fly 4 miles away for a test but how are they getting away with it?

I am a noob here. Does that count for ignorance?
I'm sorry I didn't mean to cut you off. :D Don't think there is enough FAA agents in the states that could even put a dent on this forum that do it. I do it. No need in saying I don't. Have to many videos in here doing test on different stuff. Nothing crazy but still. Now they just did arrest a guy but believe that's the first one I've seen but he hit a helocopter. We don't promote doing anything illegal but we have sections here onlong range flyers. Is why I poked you in my post.
Welcome to MavicPilots :D

I'm sorry I didn't mean to cut you off. :D Don't think there is enough FAA agents in the states that could even put a dent on this forum that do it. I do it. No need in saying I don't. Have to many videos in here doing test on different stuff. Nothing crazy but still. Now they just did arrest a guy but believe that's the first one I've seen but he hit a helocopter. We don't promote doing anything illegal but we have sections here onlong range flyers. Is why I poked you in my post.
Welcome to MavicPilots :D
Got it! Thanks.

There are many thrilling videos to watch of long range flyers here and on youtube that have visual observers, and many of those that don’t. Those that post videos without all the proper safety protocols in place, place a risk and burden that the remainder of us must carry.

Fly safe, fly legal.

Last edited:
how are they getting away with it?