DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic 2 Pro and flying inside a factory.

RpnPilot

Reactions
I have experience flying inside but not filming inside a factory and may have the opportunity to do so. I would use Tripod mode with GPS and return to home off. The factory has wide aisles to fly and high ceilings but it is a very large steel building with lots of machines. Can anybody offer advice? This would be a great opportunity for me to offer another service for my company as well a lucrative contract.
Thanks in advance for any advice.

Reactions: Skywatcher2001
I have no experience at all with this, but the first question that comes to mind is this. Are you sure that you have reliable GPS signals inside that particular building? When I think of large factory buildings what I picture are large STEEL ROOFED buildings. That's what is most common around here.

Reactions: Skywatcher2001
This might help. Your drone will go into ATTI mode so be prepared for that (no GPS). It will continue on inertia even if you let go of the sticks . . .

Nice job. It looks like a really challenging flying enviornment.
I wasn't the pilot but you were correct in regards to GPS loss inside due to the structure . . .

I have no experience at all with this, but the first question that comes to mind is this. Are you sure that you have reliable GPS signals inside that particular building? When I think of large factory buildings what I picture are large STEEL ROOFED buildings. That's what is most common around here.
Yes I plan on flying just in Atti. and Tripod mode with no GPS.

Reactions: rainystateguy
I have flown my MP indoors so here is my 2 cents worth:
  • Pick up a set of prop guards. They are inexpensive and will help reduce the pucker factor flying indoors.
  • Use Tripod mode.
  • Set RTH to hover.
  • Turn off collision avoidance sensors.