DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Part 107 certificate difficult?

PPCPilot

Reactions
Hi All,

I used to be an ultralight flight instructor so I already have a fair amount of knowledge with respect to what a person would need to know to obtain the Part 107 certificate. However, in looking over the study guide it looks to me like it might be quite a bit of work to educate myself to pass the test.

I would like to hear from people who have obtained the Part 107 certificate. How much studying did it take? I know that's a subjective question but do you think we're talking 10 hours or 50 hours?

I'm going to be filming weddings.

I used an app called Prepware Remote Pilot, it only costs a few bucks, it's a great resource. I also used the FAA Remote Pilot study guide. I studied for about 10 hours, passed with an 83% but passed the recurrent test back in July with a 95%, studying again with Prepware.

Hi All,

I used to be an ultralight flight instructor so I already have a fair amount of knowledge with respect to what a person would need to know to obtain the Part 107 certificate. However, in looking over the study guide it looks to me like it might be quite a bit of work to educate myself to pass the test.

I would like to hear from people who have obtained the Part 107 certificate. How much studying did it take? I know that's a subjective question but do you think we're talking 10 hours or 50 hours?

I used a online course remotepilot101.com. I went through the entire course twice. I think I probably studied for 3 or 4 weeks everyday when I had free time. I passed with 98%.

Okay, cool. Thanks guys! I just wanted to have some sort of sense for what I would be getting myself into and your feedback helps a lot! Thank you again for sharing your experience!