DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

San Francisco private drone police

Real life pilot vs. hobbyist and the truth is he is just telling the facts. It’s all about that “my drone picture is better than you” the force that drives social media and most of these forums. Just saying LOL

if this is within a 400ft radius and below 400ft above the tower across the street ( I checked Google Earth) isn't this legal?

I would bet that it’s not legal and that this dude knows what he is talking about. Just my educated guess.

Reactions: Shawn King
Strictly speaking, the pilot that took that picture could get dinged for a few things:
  • Flying with visibility less than 3 SM and clouds below 500 ft. AGL
  • Failure to maintain VLOS
  • Flying over people
  • Flying at night
I am a licensed pilot with several active airspace use authorization. Altitude limits in controlled airspace are typically a hard limit and cannot be added to the height of structures.

Strictly speaking, the pilot that took that picture could get dinged for a few things:
  • Flying over people
  • Flying at night
I am a licensed pilot with several active airspace use authorization. Altitude limits in controlled airspace are typically a hard limit and cannot be added to the height of structures.

what are the rules for helicopters, aren't they supposed to be 2,000ft out and 1,000ft above? all of SF helipads (except uc hospital) are shut down and residents fight hard to keep it that way. For the hospital, they must fly in from the bay and not over the city, since it's 2 blocks from the water.

Real life pilot vs. hobbyist and the truth is he is just telling the facts. It’s all about that “my drone picture is better than you” the force that drives social media and most of these forums. Just saying LOL

what's wrong with watching all the tutorials on Youtube so you can have better drone shots? You don't have to climb above 400ft either.