DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Should I return my new drone?

• Thread starter Deleted member 125445
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 125445

I am a brand new pilot and I love my new Mavic Air 2. I have had no problems flying it, but I do have problems meeting the FAA Visual Line of Sight rule. I have decent vision, but I can't legally fly very far because I can't see the aircraft after a few hundred feet. I assume most pilots just ignore this rule, but I don't want to feel like a criminal every time I fly. A hobby is supposed to be fun, but this restriction takes away the fun. At this point, I think the best thing for me to do is to return the drone and get my money back. Does anyone want to talk me out of this?

Reactions: Hauptmann
I am a brand new pilot and I love my new Mavic Air 2. I have had no problems flying it, but I do have problems meeting the FAA Visual Line of Sight rule. I have decent vision, but I can't legally fly very far because I can't see the aircraft after a few hundred feet. I assume most pilots just ignore this rule, but I don't want to feel like a criminal every time I fly. A hobby is supposed to be fun, but this restriction takes away the fun. At this point, I think the best thing for me to do is to return the drone and get my money back. Does anyone want to talk me out of this?
Nope!

Do you ever drive 2-3 mph over the speed limit? If you do......you should be a-shame of yourself!;)

Last edited:

Yep ! First your problem would most likely be solved with two nice Fire House lights, you dont need to see the details of the drone in the sky just a light is fine.
You really only need to fly 500 ft to enjoy the Drone and its ability to Record what you think is pleasing to the Eye.

Those flashing lights are really bright, I would try that first , and if you cannot see them , than consider your options.