DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air2S Cleaning?

Reactions
I'm probably over thinking this, and yes, it was an idea that popped into my head randomly, but I want my new drone to last as long as I can. I am a huge fan of planes and helicopters, as well as military equipment. I remember learning during Desert Storm all the issues the helicopters and Osprey's had with sand getting into the engines etc. This made me think of my drone. Is there a need to clean the motors, or anything else inside the drone, if there is, how the hell do you know what to use, how to clean, how often to clean or even get into opening it up to reach those parts.

A can of computer air spray should suffice and a vacuum cleaner.

It's a good idea to have a launch pad or learn how to hand land / launch the aircraft.

Prevent the problem of debris getting inside from the start and you may never have to clean it.

I've been flying since 2017 and never had to clean my drones because I do one or the other when flying.

just make it part of your post flight routine when you check it over for any damage as said above
using a launch/land pad to stop to much dirt or debris from getting into the motors
and during summer time .you will get the inevitable insect stains on the props and body sometimes,to clean my drones after flying ,i use an unscented baby wipe to remove insect marks and it allows you to see if there is any prop damage especially on the leading edges of the props

just make it part of your post flight routine when you check it over for any damage as said above
using a launch/land pad to stop to much dirt or debris from getting into the motors
and during summer time .you will get the inevitable insect stains on the props and body sometimes,to clean my drones after flying ,i use an unscented baby wipe to remove insect marks and it allows you to see if there is any prop damage especially on the leading edges of the props