DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Birds attacking drone over and over

Blimey, you were very lucky? I would of landed straight away. I’m no expert but were they pigeons? Looked like it, again, gangs of pigeons looking for trouble...

Pain in the 7BE04C98-A6CF-4EC1-869D-92C52A300529.jpeg

i think they were swifts or swallows they were in a feeding pattern probably from swarms of insects coming off the ground,they were not actually attacking the drone,but you were lucky not to have been hit, its a tribute to their flying skills that you werent makes for some great shots though

The best thing to do is climb to a higher altitude immediately, as the birds cannot ascend vertically, then get the MP2 home fast as you can.

I sometime get a similar situation living on the W Coast with seagulls or Black Oystercatchers. The front sensors usually pause the MA. I have thought about putting on the guards, but so far I've not had a real 'hit'

Pigeons, they often do that fast flocking thing and are probably too stupid to even be aware of the Mavic.
Attacks are generally related to protecting young or nest sites, which is understandable.
Blundering into it because the other birds made them do it is another matter.

The best avoidance tactic is to go straight up, no bird can do that.

They certainly were curious, but they are better at avoiding us than we are at avoiding them.

i think they were swifts or swallows they were in a feeding pattern probably from swarms of insects coming off the ground,they were not actually attacking the drone,but you were lucky not to have been hit, its a tribute to their flying skills that you werent makes for some great shots though

I think your right about the type of birds.

Pigeons, they often do that fast flocking thing and are probably too stupid to even be aware of the Mavic.
Attacks are generally related to protecting young or nest sites, which is understandable.