DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

PolarPro Cinema Series - UNBOXING and GIMBAL TEST

I got the Shutter Series coming, with the filter on do you change your video quality settings any, or leave them how you had them without a filter?

Just tried my new PolarPro Cinema Vivid Series ND Filters in flight today.
Beforehand I practiced putting them on a couple of times to see how they fit. They fit well, snapping on and off.
I also tested putting them on at home and upon powering up the Mavic, the gimbal gave no error messages with the added ND filter.
I figured great, let's try it out for real now.

However, it became a whole different story in the field today...
I used the ND8 filter and made sure it was securely and uniformly attached to the camera.
But upon powering up the Mavic, I got a Gimbal Error message in DJI GO.
I restarted the Mavic several times to see what was happening.
Finally about the 3rd or 4th time starting up, I got to an initialization without having a DJI GO Gimbal Error message.
The Gimbal Error messages varied, to being:
Gimbal Overloaded, make sure the clamp is off.
Gimbal Limit reached.
Gimbal Obstructed.

Eventually I realized on the second or third startup, looking at the Mavic as it initialized and ended the startup with a gimbal error,
the camera would be left positioned at an odd, crooked angle.
My solution was to power off the Mavic, straighten the camera to a normal horizontal position and then restart the Mavic again.
Usually after doing this procedure the next startup would be without Gimbal Error messages and I would then fly with no problems.
This sequence happened the same way for two separate flights in different flight locations, using different batteries.
I confirmed the ND Filter was installed properly and uniformly, snapping on and off.
I have to assume the filter was catching on something during the startup sequence.