DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Impossible to edit 4k@30fps in Premiere Pro CS6

Retrograde

Reactions
Hey everyone!

Maybe a few of you have experienced that working with 4k video shot on the Mavic can be a headache and I was hoping you could offer me some insight;

I'm trying to work with some awesome video I took today with my new Mavic Pro (what a machine) and I've discovered (I'm new to editing in 4K) that previewing/scrubbing through the clips in Premiere Pro CS6 is super choppy and is pretty much impossible to work with - all whilst my CPU stays at super low load.

I should note that simply playing the .mov files in VLC is perfect and smooth as butter.

My computer is fairly powerful;
  • MSI x99 Gaming Pro Carbon Motherboard
  • Overclocked i7-6850k (6 cores, 12 threads)
  • GTX 1080
  • 32gb 3200mhz DDR4
  • 512gb Samsung m.2 Pro SSD (Where this footage resides)
  • 3x 500gb Samsung Pro SATA SSD

After an exhausting few hours of research on this issue, I'm becoming increasingly frustrated because from what I can tell, my version of Premiere Pro (CS6) appears not to have proxy or ingest options built in, so I don't think it's a viable solution for my issue unless someone can hopefully prove otherwise.

Alternatively, I was wondering about how I would go about transcoding these .mov files to cineform and if that would help? I've read in a few places that this can be a solution.

Any tips or suggestions would be massively appreciated. I'm quite new (but very enthusiastic to start) editing in 4k. Is there something simple here that I'm missing?

Thanks for reading

Make sure you have HW acceleration enabled in New Project settings, with those specs it must run perfectly smooth...

wHtltId.png